Board Members

E-mail the Board of Education at

Sam Ach (President)

Sam has lived in Glenview since 1995 and has three children who graduated from District 34. His volunteer highlights include: Glenview Education Foundation board member and chair, Technology Committee member and New School Task Force member. Sam graduated from Amherst College and the University of Chicago Law School. He currently serves as an independent consultant and attorney in private practice. During his career he has served as General Counsel for several corporations and Chief Counsel for IDOT. He was elected to the Board in 2011 and re-elected in 2015.

Natalie Jachtorowycz (Vice President)

Natalie and her husband have lived in Glenview for 10 years. They have two school-aged children. She has an undergraduate degree from the University of Saint Thomas (Saint Paul, Minnesota) in political science and a law degree from DePaul University. As an attorney, Natalie worked in the field of intellectual property. She also has worked extensively as a volunteer. Natalie is currently a school board member of the Ukrainian School of Chicago. She is also currently serving as the Student Needs liaison for Lyon School and as a member of the D34 Student Needs Advisory Panel. She was elected to the Board in 2015.

Jim Baumstark

Jim has lived in Glenview since 2001 and has two children that are recent graduates of District 34. In the midst of his second career, Jim teaches math and economics at a local high school. Before then, he spent over 20 years as an actuary, investment consultant, and finance professional in various capacities - his most recent position being vice president of finance and capital management at Allstate Insurance. Jim was an 8-year board member and former Treasurer and Chair of the Glenview Education Foundation, and currently serves as Treasurer for 2 local non-profit organizations. Jim earned his MBA from the University of Chicago and his undergraduate degree from Brown University.  He was elected to the Board in 2017.

John Heggie

John has been a Glenview resident for 10 years and is the owner of Edward and Lee LLC, a company that markets insurance programs to independent insurance agencies across the country. He has a background in engineering and risk management. John attended the John Marshall School of Law and is licensed to practice law in Illinois. Since moving to Glenview, he has coached youth tee-ball, participated in Our Lady of Perpetual Help's Be-Friend-A-Family program and has been active in his children's nursery school community. He was elected to the Board in 2015.

Katie Jones

Katie has resided in Glenview for 4 years. She taught consumer education, child development, and culinary arts at Glenbrook North High School for 11 years before choosing to become a stay-at-home mom. She is now a volunteer consultant with the non-profit Credit Awareness Resistance Education (CARE) program that teaches high school students about managing personal finances. She earned two Master's degrees from National Louis University: Educational Leadership with Administrative Type 75 Certification, and Curriculum and Instruction with a concentration in English Language Learners. She also holds a Bachelor's degree in Family and Individual Development from Northern Illinois University. She was elected to the Board in 2017.

Jackie Lutz

Jackie has participated in several District committees since moving to Glenview in 2001. She was co-chair for 34Connect, participated in two principal search committees, was a member of the District's strategic planning process and served as board member and chair of the Glenview Education Foundation. Jackie graduated from the University of Pennsylvania. Prior to 2007, she worked as a health care consultant, supporting hospitals in strategic planning and product development. She was elected to the Board in 2011 and re-elected in 2015.

Diane Stefani

Diane moved to Glenview in 2003 and has two children. Prior to joining the Board, she served as the Liaison to the Board of Education for the Westbrook/Glen Grove PTA.  Diane graduated from Loyola University of Chicago and the University of Illinois College of Law.  She currently is an attorney in private practice, and has defended schools in civil litigation.  During her career, she has served as in-house counsel, led a group of attorneys advising a large-not-for-profit, and was a partner at a Chicago law firm focusing on the defense of complex claims. She was elected to the Board in 2017.