Special Education

mgeraghty's picture

Mary Geraghty

Executive Director of Student Services
(847) 998-5071
kcaceres's picture

Kristin Caceres

Assistant Director of Student Services
(847) 657-2271
mmiller's picture

Mihaela Miller

Grants & Special Programs Specialist
(847) 998-5015
phouse's picture

Patti House

Administrative Assistant
(847) 998-5013

SPECIAL EDUCATION

Core Purpose:

In partnership with our families and communities, Glenview School District 34 will educate all students to reach their highest potential.

 

Vision:

  • All students are general education students first
  • Special education is a service for students with an identified disability
  • Special educators (including related service providers) utilize specialized instruction for the purpose of acquiring the necessary skills to master grade level standards


Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA)

Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) was passed by Congress to ensure all students with disabilities ages 3-21 would receive a free and appropriate public education to meet their individual and unique learning needs.
 


The Special Education Referral Process

If a parent has concerns about their child’s academic or social-emotional progress, as it relates to education, they should contact their child’s building administration. Please consult the following website for comprehensive information regarding the special education and response to intervention process:
 

SPECIAL EDUCATION TEAM MEMBERS
 

Mary Geraghty

Executive Director of Student Services
(847) 998-5071
mgeraghty@glenview34.org
 

Kristin Caceres

Assistant Director of Student Services
(847) 657-2271
kcaceres@glenview34.org
 

Rebecca Brown

Student Services Administrator
rbrown@glenview34.org
Glen Grove :  (847) 998-2350
Westbrook :  (847) 998-2453
 

Jason Rehfeldt

Student Services Administrator
jrehfeldt@glenview34.org
Attea :  (847) 486-7708
 

Karen Schwartzwald

Student Services Administrator
kschwartzwald@glenview34.org
Springman :  (847) 486-7708
 

Stephanie Shefler 

REACH Program - Assistant Principal
sshefler@glenview34.org
Westbrook :  (847) 626-4121
 

Maggie Wade

Student Services Administrator
mwade@glenview34.org
Lyon  :  (847) 998-2453
Pleasant Ridge  :  (847) 998-2744
 

Kim Williams

Student Services Administrator
kwilliams@glenview34.org
Henking :  (847) 998-2639
Hoffman :  (847) 998-2534